How I Self-Studied for the DAT and got an Academic Average of 25

Two summers ago, I was a “pre-dental” student who had just started preparing (albeit not wholeheartedly) for the Canadian Dental Aptitude Test (DAT) to be held in November.

While MCAT-takers and American pre-dents have the luxury of taking their respective standardized tests during the summer, some cruel person responsible for organizing the Dental Aptitude Test decided that Canadian dental school hopefuls must write theirs in either November or February. As if the questions themselves weren’t challenging enough, we also had to balance our test prep with midterms, assignments, essays, labs… Talk about an exercise in time management.

Why Self-Study?

Although there are several test prep courses available, I chose to forego them because:

  • They are expensive. Costs range from hundreds to thousands of dollars! Even with a discount, buying my own DAT prep materials would be much cheaper.
  • They weren’t convenient for me with regards to both time & location. That summer, I was volunteering 9-to-5 in a research lab and the last thing I wanted to do after work was sit in a 3-hour lesson.
  • I wanted to learn on my own schedule. I’d rather spread out my studying and continually review until November so the material would still be fresh in my mind come Test Day. A summer prep course wouldn’t have been enough.
  • I wanted to focus on my weaknesses. I had already taken introductory biology, chemistry and many other science courses in university. I didn’t need a course to teach me what I could re-learn from my notes. However, my PAT and carving skills were weaker and I wanted to focus on improving them.
  • Friends/peers who had taken the courses did not find them super helpful.

Please keep in mind that I am simply recounting what worked for me two years ago. I don’t claim that it is the best way to study or a guaranteed way to get a 25 AA.

Keep reading for a list of Eventual DDS-approved prep materials & a timeline of how I studied!!

The Materials

I started studying in July and buried my innate procrastinatory habits under a huge stack of DAT prep materials:

  • Canadian Dental Association’s Dental Aptitude Test Preparation Manual: $20; available here (or $65 for the whole prep kit)
  • Kaplan Dental Admissions Test guide aka Kaplan Blue Book (KBB): $50.76; available here
  • CliffsAP Biology (3rd edition): $14.59; available here
  • The Princeton Review MCAT General Chemistry Review: $33.86; available here
  • Orgoman DAT Destroyer: $149.95; available here
  • IQ Publications Perceptual Ability Test books A, B & C: $24.95 each; available here
  • IQ Publications Soap Carving: $39.95; available here
  • Crack the DAT PAT: starting from $99 for 5 tests; available here

*Prices listed do not include applicable taxes or shipping.

Money-saving Tip!: Check your local Craigslist, Kijiji, University classifieds or premed101 forum for discounted, second-hand items! Don’t forget to take advantage of Ebates.ca and receive cash-back for online purchases from retailers such as Amazon or Indigo. If you’re hesitant to drop the money, scope out potential buys at your local library or University library or read reviews from other pre-dents at the StudentDoctor.net or premed101.com forums.

How I Studied for Each Section

The Canadian DAT is slightly different from the American version and a completely different beast from the MCAT. Per the Canadian Dental Association website, the DAT covers:

  • “The Survey of the Natural Sciences consists of 40 Biology and 30 General Chemistry questions.
  • The Perceptual Ability Test consists of 90 questions.
  • The Reading Comprehension Test (English only) consists of 50 questions.
  • Optional Manual Dexterity Test”

There are no organic chemistry or quantitative reasoning (math) sections on the Canadian DAT. A more detailed description of each section is available here. Each section is taken independently, which means you won’t be able to revise your answers for one section during the time allotted for another section.

Biology

My main reference was the CliffNotes AP book. I also used the KBB, but I think Cliffs is a more thorough and understandable resource. Cliffs also has several MCQs at the end of each section and two practice tests at the end of the book. All the questions have answers with explanations. The DAT is wide in breadth but not depth! Cliffs covered everything my DAT tested.

After learning the material with Cliffs and KBB, I powered through the DAT Destroyer’s 420 biology questions. This was such a great review material because: 1) it matched or exceeded the difficulty level of the official DAT questions 2) the questions had detailed explanations.

Chemistry

My main reference was a chemistry book from TPR’s MCAT course pack. It had a number of example problems. After going through it, I made my own formula “cheat sheet”.

Again, most of the review process was achieved by doing all 257 General Chemistry questions in the DAT Destroyer.

Reading Comprehension

I did well on the RC practice sections in the KBB. The RC section in the official CDA DAT prep book confirmed that the difficulty level was similar, so I actually did not practice any more for RC.

I used the “search and destroy” method. First, I would scan the questions (about 5 at a time) and note the keywords present in the questions and answers. Then, I’d scan the passage for the keywords or their synonyms until I found an appropriate answer. I never actually read the entire passage continuously from head to tail.

DAT passages are NOT complex or filled with advanced vocabulary or technical jargon. I would compare them to articles found in a respected newspaper or magazine. The passage topics are broad and unpredictable. For example, the November 2011 DAT featured passages about the language centres of the brain, and also about piano tuning.

The questions are really simple and generally ask for information that could be directly found in the passage. Unlike the Verbal Reasoning of the MCAT, you do not have to infer meaning or figure out the passage’s tone. Any difficulty from the DAT’s RC section derives from the sheer volume of questions. If you are having trouble with this section, I would suggest training yourself to speed read.

Perceptual Ability Test

Initially, I was doing well on the problems in the KBB and feeling pretty good. But I soon realized that the KBB PAT questions (especially the angle-ranking questions) are way too easy and only good for easing yourself into the PAT section.

The questions from IQ Publications were more challenging and has a difficulty on par with the actual exam. Each book (A, B, C) has 90 questions and an accompanying answer key. Unfortunately, the answer key does not offer explanations.

The Crack the DAT PAT program kicked my butt. The questions were a bit harder and more complex than the actual exam. Each question has an animation to visually explain the answer, so this may be helpful to those of you struggling with this section. But since it is a computer-based program and the Canadian DAT is paper-based, the test-taking strategies may differ.

I eventually devised PAT strategies derived from those outlined on PreDDS.net for all of the sections except angle-ranking.

Angle-ranking was challenging for me because all the so-called “strategies” simply boiled down to “use your judgement”. So, I sped through the angle-ranking questions first and try to spend as little time on each question as possible. I found that the longer I spent looking between the choices, the more I would doubt and confuse myself. It was better to go with my initial gut reaction and use the saved time on other PAT sections.

Manual Dexterity Test

I watched the free 15-part Soap Carving Demo on YouTube, which has a lot of great tips. First, I practised carving random patterns into the scrap soaps someone gave me. This gave me a feel for controlling the blade and the texture of the soap. Then, I practised measuring and carving the blueprints listed in IQ Publication’s Soap Carving book. I ended up only doing 6 full mock MDTs.

Timeline

The “Natural Sciences” section is generally covered by introductory biology and chemistry university courses. These courses are almost always required as pre-requisites to applying to dental school so it’s often advised to take the DAT after once you’ve completed these courses. Keep in mind that some schools will not consider DAT scores that are older than 2 years. All of the above considered, I started studying the summer after second year in preparation for the upcoming November 2011 DAT.

Over the summer, I read through the KBB, CliffsAP Biology and TPR MCAT General Chemistry book to refresh my memory of the courses I had taken in first-year. I made my own condensed notes and formula cheatsheets. After doing one mock DAT exam, I identified that PAT was my weakest section, studied the strategies to use and tackled as many problems as I could. At the end of the summer, I started meeting up with other pre-dents to practice for the Manual Dexterity Test.

By the time school started, I had finished learning the material and was just reviewing and testing myself. I tackled the questions in the DAT Destroyer, doing a few pages a night. I bought the CrackPAT software at the end of October because I ran out of PAT problems.

The Outcome

Each section is scored out of 30. A score of 20 is considered good. 21+ is considered competitive.

  • Biology: 24
  • Chemistry: 26
  • Reading Comprehension: 25
  • Perceptual Ability: 20
  • Manual Dexterity: 11
  • Total Science: 25
  • Academic Average: 25

With the exception of my MDT score, I was pretty happy with my DAT results.

I hope my DAT breakdown is helpful to you! Don’t forget to check out my comparison chart of minimum and competitive DAT scores for each dental school!

Disclaimer: This post was inspired by medaholic’s Guide to Studying for the MCAT – great blog for anyone interested in medical school.

26 comments

  1. Hi, thanks for your post! very informative! The Manual Dexterity option is now optional on the DATs, so do they include it in your AA if you do take it? Also is there anywhere to order full length old DAT exams? I know this exists for the American DAT and you can purchase old DAT exam but can’t seem to find the same anywhere for canadian DAT.

    1. Hi Rachel, I believe the AA score never included the MDT score. The AA is the Science score and Reading comprehension score.

      I don’t know where to order old Canadian DAT exams. I don’t think it’s necessary to do so. You can use American practice exams. The basic chemistry and biology sections are pretty similar.

  2. Hi Carrie,
    Love this blog! Very helpful for someone trying to pick out which prep material is best. Considering you’re in your last year of dental school, I’m assuming this post is old. Have you heard of any more helpful books/websites that may be useful?
    Thanks

  3. Hi Carrie!
    I was just wondering if you think it would be a good idea to purchase the Organ DAT Destroyer if there is no organic chem on the DAT? Did it help with general chem or was the Princeton Review book helpful enough?
    Thanks,
    Paula

    1. The DAT Destroyer provides a bunch of practice questions, and an answer key with explanations. The Canadian DAT has no organic chemistry, so I don’t think it’s necessary to buy the Orgo DAT Destroyer.

      I happened to have access to the Princeton Review book for general chemistry (borrowed from a friend who was taking their MCAT course), but there are many alternative options to that. I’ve heard good things about Chad’s Chemistry Videos but have never used it.

      If you’ve taken general chemistry in university already, I’d just use your old class notes and practice with questions from the DAT Destroyer or other question banks.

      Good luck!

  4. Hey Carrie :)

    I found all of your advise superb! I did really well on my DAT too and I’d just like to add a few resources. For the manual dexterity section I used DATsoapcarving.ca and they were amazing, I ended up getting a 27 on my soap carving. Coursesavers.com videos are also really good if you need to review your chem. And finally DATbootcamp.com are great for practice tests, they show you very thoroughly how to solve any mistake you made.

    1. Thanks for mentioning the additional resources, Alex! It’s been so many years since I took the DAT so I’m not up to date on the newer study aids available. Congratulations on your score!

  5. Thanks so much for this Carrie! I have an overall GPA of just under 3.7, and looking at all these forums, I feel like I just lost hope. Is there a chance for me to get accepted anywhere?

  6. Thank you for your site. I used it often as a reference to help me getting into dental school and I’ll be going in the Fall! Your time and effort was certainly appreciate

  7. This was a great blog post. Thank you for all the information! I’m planning on taking my DATs pretty soon so this was a great way to gauge what preparation I’m going to need to do. I am honestly having a lot of trouble finding a way to order the soap carving kit and soap bars for the Manual Dexterity Test. I went on the CDA website and they don’t seem to have a link or website as to where these materials can be purchased. Just wondering where you ordered your materials from…

    Best,

    Amina.

    1. Hi Amina, I apologize for the very very late reply.

      You should be able to purchase these supplies from the CDA website here: https://www.cda-adc.ca/en/becoming/dat/orders_requests/ After you fill in your name, address and other details, there will be an option to purchase DAT Preparation Kit for $70, DAT Preparation Manual for $25 and/or a Soap Six-Pack for $35. You can also try searching your local classifieds (craigslist or kijiji) or perusing the PreMed101 forums for second-hand preparation materials.

      Be sure to check the application requirements of the dental schools you’re interested in. Many schools these days no longer require a Manual Dexterity (soap carving) score, so it may be better to re-focus your DAT preparation elsewhere.

      1. Hi!

        How did you feel the Canadian DAT booklet practice test(s) (the one you buy with the package) were in comparison to the real DAT? I’m taking the DAT this Saturday!

        Thanks!

    2. Was the chemistry prep (Princeton review MCAT chemistry review book) actually helpful?

      I am writing my cDAT for the first time. I already took the aDAT and I’d like to strengthen the chemistry portion

      Thanks

  8. Hi Carrie! Thank you so much! This is extremely helpful because majority of the blogs out there are centered toward the American DAT. I just wanted to know what your study schedule was like. I plan on studying for 12 weeks while going to summer school part-time and working in lab. So just wanted to know if you had any advice. Thank you :)

  9. Hi Carrie!

    First, I wanted to thank you so much for this amazing resource, I find your blog very useful and informative.

    I just wanted to ask you a question: I am writing the DAT in 3 weeks and I am really having a hard time trying to decide whether I should order the DAT Destroyer at this point. I wouldn’t mind paying the money (even though I think it is a little overpriced), but my main problem is that I only have 3 weeks left and it takes 1 week for it to get delivered, which would leave me 2 weeks to work on it. I know you’ve repeatedly mentioned that it is a great resource but do you think it would be a good idea to order it at this point? I am afraid it might just add to my anxiety level considering the fact that it is apparently a very challenging resource.

    I generally consider myself a pretty strong student in Bio and Chem. Would you say that KBB + Cliffs AP Bio (obviously including all the MCQs covered in these two) for the Biology Section, and KBB + Princeton Review MCAT for GenChem Section could be considered sufficient resources on their own or not enough at all? In other words, would you say that the DAT Destroyer was extremely necessary for you to get the amazing marks that you got or just a great review resource?

    I would really appreciate if you could please help me out with this!!

    PS-I’m not being lazy..I just really don’t know if it’s smart to order the Destroyer/if I could realistically get any use out of it now that it is already pretty late. That being said, if you think the main resource that was the “reason” for your high Academic Average was the Destroyer, then I think I would still order it.

    PS2-Sorry about this long “letter” :-s and thanks a million!

  10. Hey I just came across this blog post and thanks so much for putting this out there. I’m writing the DAT in November I was wondering where I could get more practice material. Have you heard of datready.ca they have a couple practice books out but I want to make sure they’re challenging enough. Otherwise would you say the DAT destroyer is my best option?

  11. This is great stuff, thanks so much Carrie! I’m currently in the middle of studying for the Nov sitting of the DAT. The material so far is all review (I already graduated with an HBSc. in Biomed), but the notes are taking so long to write. How much time did you spend over the summer, each day, on studying?

    1. Hi Natalie! Thank you for your kind feedback.

      During the summer, I studied on the weekends only because I was volunteering during the week. I devoted a full Saturday and Sunday to reading the biology and chem material. However, it wasn’t until September or October that I truly buckled down and started doing pages and pages of practice questions from Cliffs and DAT Destroyer. I estimate that I spent around 4 hours after class each day prepping, and probably did so more intensely in the week leading up to the Nov DAT. In all honesty, the mad dash was a result of my procrastination but also because I wanted to keep the material fresh in my mind for the exam.

      Best of luck on your test. You’ll rock it!

Comments are closed.